Strawberry Lemon Muffins

Strawberries!  Its that time of year, and we have been getting strawberries in our veggie box every week.  I stumbled upon a recipe for strawberry lemon muffins and thought it would be a nice to switch it up for once.  Especially since I had basically eaten all the other strawberries that had come in the previous box and not shared them at all.  Oops.  Since recipe I found had a few ingredients that I didn’t have in the cupboard there was a little substituting involved.  However, no one was poisoned and I’ve actually already eaten four so I think its a recipe I’ll make again.

Starting off with mixing my wet ingredients:

Then mixing my dry ingredients and adding the strawberries in:

Add the wet ingredients in:

Fill the muffin cups about 3/4 full – this recipe fills them perfectly.

Put in the oven for 25 minutes at 375 and voila!

Strawberry and Lemon Muffins:

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup milk

1 egg

1 lemon, zested and juiced

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar, packed

1 cup fresh strawberries

Preheat oven to 375 and line a muffin tin with liners.  In a bowl whisk oil, milk, lemon juice and egg.  Seperately, mix flour, sugar, brown sugar, baking powder and lemon zest.  Mix in strawberries to flour mixture and then add mixed wet ingredients.  Fill muffin cups 3/4 full with batter and put in the oven for 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.  My oven runs a little on the low side and I baked them for exactly 25 minutes, so it may be less for some with a better oven.  A great weekend morning treat!

Leave a comment